Litigation & Forensic Accounting

Our expertise in the pursuit of justice

Investigation & Forensic Accounting

Accounting and financial matters are at the heart of many business disputes. In today’s complex business environment, solid evidence provided by competent financial experts drives the outcome of many of these issues. Whether a dispute results from litigation, mediation, arbitration, or any other mechanism, we can help bring clarity to complex situations.

Richter assists the legal community, corporations, financial institutions, governments, regulatory bodies and individuals by investigating and assessing the financial issues involved in a litigation or commercial crime, and offering sound financial advice to facilitate resolution. We have years of experience representing claimants and defendants; thus, our services can be provided as expert or as critics of other experts’ reports. Among other things, our services are sought for the following:

Litigation Assistance

We apply a variety of quantitative and qualitative techniques to analyze the financial impact of an alleged fault and quantify damages. The final independent expert report and testimony highlight key findings and conclusions in a clear and logical manner, providing an accurate assessment of any actual or potential losses. Richter has provided assistance in the following situations, among others:

  • Breach of contracts and contractual dispute;
  • Intellectual property theft;
  • Non-compete clauses and disputes between shareholders / partners;
  • Contracts with government;
  • Product responsibility;
  • Professional negligence in accounting and assurance;
  • Insurance claims for operating loss;
  • Fraud and other economic crimes;
  • Net assets and income calculations regarding matrimonial matters.

Fraud and Financial Investigation

Our fraud and financial investigations are undertaken with a focus on discretion, judgment and timeliness, while protecting the evidence at hand. Our expertise includes detection of the following crimes:

  • Corruption and misappropriation of assets;
  • Financial statement fraud;
  • Bankruptcy fraud;
  • Insurance claim fraud;
  • Contravention of by-laws.

Risk Management Prevention

We also work closely with our clients to develop proactive approaches to fraud prevention, with expertise in the following specialty areas:

  • Risk management and prevention planning (fraud and other);
  • Internal audit;
  • Governance, internal control and compliance;
  • Training and awareness workshops.

Class Action Administration

Our objective is to ensure that the settlement terms or the ruling in the class action suit are effectively implemented and managed. As third-party managers, we make sure that claims are handled according to arrangements and that the calculations and distribution of compensation are consistent with the terms agreed upon in the resolution. We also establish and manage communications with applicants in a centralized manner by way of dedicated websites and call centres.

Insurance Claims

Our team provides accounting expert reports making it possible to analyze and quantify insurable losses following a fire, theft, or other incident. Such events often require the valuation of all or part of a business in the event of a catastrophe.

Evaluation of Accountants’ Professional Negligence

We perform an objective and impartial analysis in order to assess compliance with International Financial Reporting Standards, as well as the fair presentation of financial information.

In this section

Fraud and financial investigations

Fraud and financial investigations

Richter’s fraud and financial investigation work is undertaken with a focus on discretion, judgment and timeliness, while focusing on protecting the evidence at hand.

Expert Showcase

Juricomptabilité

Notre expertise au service de la justice

Juricomptabilité

Les questions financières et comptables sont au cœur de nombreux différends d’ordre commercial. Dans le milieu des affaires complexe d’aujourd’hui, des preuves solides fournies par des experts financiers compétents déterminent le résultat de bon nombre de ces questions. Qu’importe si un différend résulte d’un processus judiciaire, de médiation, d’arbitrage ou d’un autre mécanisme, nous pouvons contribuer à clarifier les situations complexes.

Richter aide le milieu juridique, les sociétés, les institutions financières, les organismes gouvernementaux, les organismes de réglementation et les particuliers en enquêtant, en évaluant les enjeux financiers liés à un litige ou à un délit commercial et en offrant des conseils financiers judicieux visant à en faciliter le règlement. Nos clients peuvent être les demandeurs ou les défendeurs et, ainsi, nos services peuvent être rendus à titre d’expert ou à titre de critique de rapports d’autres experts. Nos services sont sollicités notamment aux fins suivantes :

Assistance dans les cas de litiges

Nous avons recours à toute une gamme de techniques quantitatives et qualitatives pour analyser et quantifier l’incidence financière d’une faute alléguée. Le rapport final et le témoignage d’experts indépendants mettent en évidence les constatations et les conclusions clés de façon claire et logique et fournissent une évaluation précise de toutes pertes réelles ou éventuelles. Nos services sont retenus entre autres dans les situations suivantes :

  • ruptures de contrats et différends contractuels;
  • vols de propriété intellectuelle;
  • clauses de non-concurrence et différends entre actionnaires ou associés;
  • contrats avec le gouvernement;
  • responsabilité à l’égard des produits;
  • négligence professionnelle en comptabilité et en certification;
  • demandes d’indemnité pour perte d’exploitation;
  • fraudes et autres crimes économiques;
  • calcul de l’actif net et des revenus en matière matrimoniale.

Enquêtes financières et enquêtes sur les fraudes

Nos enquêtes financières et enquêtes sur les fraudes sont réalisées en préconisant la rapidité d’exécution, la discrétion et le discernement, tout en mettant à l’avant-plan la protection des éléments de preuve. Notre expertise porte entre autres sur la détection des délits suivants :

  • détournement d’actifs et corruption;
  • états financiers frauduleux;
  • faillite frauduleuse;
  • réclamation frauduleuse d’assurance;
  • contravention aux règlements administratifs.

Prévention en matière de gestion des risques

Nous pouvons également travailler étroitement avec nos clients en vue d’élaborer une approche proactive à l’égard de la prévention de la fraude grâce à nos compétences dans les spécialités suivantes :

  • gestion des risques et planification préventive (fraude et autres);
  • audit interne;
  • gouvernance, contrôles internes et conformité;
  • ateliers de formation et de sensibilisation.

Administration de recours collectifs

Notre objectif est de nous assurer que les modalités de règlement ou de jugement des recours collectifs sont mises en place et gérées de façon efficace. En qualité de tiers gestionnaires, nous veillons à ce que les réclamations soient traitées selon les arrangements prévus et que le calcul ainsi que la distribution des indemnités soient conformes aux modalités convenues dans le cadre de la résolution. En outre, si cela est nécessaire, nous établissons et gérons les communications avec les demandeurs de façon centralisée à l’aide de sites Web et de centres d’appels.

Demandes d’indemnité

Notre équipe fournit des rapports d’expertise comptable qui permettent l’analyse et la quantification des pertes assurables à la suite d’un incendie, d’un vol ou de tout autre sinistre. Ces événements nécessitent souvent de procéder à l’évaluation d’une partie, voire de l’ensemble, de l’entreprise, dans les cas de catastrophes.

Évaluation de la négligence professionnelle de la part des comptables

Nous procédons à une analyse objective et impartiale dans le but d’évaluer la conformité avec les Normes internationales d’information financière et la fidélité de l’image donnée.

Dans cette section

Experts