Business Valuation

Dependable valuations for reliable opinions.

The business and legal communities rely on accurate and reliable business valuations in the following areas:

Shareholders’ agreements and/or shareholders’ disputes

Specific provisions in a shareholders’ agreement calling for a valuation can help companies avoid costly and disruptive shareholder disputes.

Where shareholder disputes do arise, a professional valuation can help resolve the dispute thereby avoiding litigation. If the dispute cannot be resolved outside the Courts, our valuations will provide objective, independent evidence leading to a fair and equitable decision with respect to value.

Mergers, acquisitions and divestitures

Business combinations often start with a valuation to provide an indication of price that allows for the development of a proper buyout or acquisition strategy. This process leads to the quantification of potential synergies and identification of business risks and opportunities, increasing the likelihood of a successful transaction. A business valuation will also help identify value drivers and will help shareholders measure the impact of strategic initiatives with a view of maximizing the value of their business today and in the future.

Transaction Support

Major transactions involving the shares of publicly-traded companies often require the preparation of fairness opinions or formal business valuations pursuant to regulatory requirements. These reports are invaluable to company directors and independent committees in fulfilling their responsibilities to their companies’ shareholders.

Other situations, involving either public or private companies, lenders, creditors and other stakeholders may require an independent and objective assessment of a proposed transaction or the company’s fair market value. Our analysis will be tailored to the specifics of the situation to provide the stakeholders with the information they need to make the right decisions.

Financial Reporting Requirements

Subsequent to a business acquisition, financial accounting standards require companies to restate their assets and liabilities acquired to fair value. This requires the identification and valuation of the company’s identifiable intangible assets and determines the residual value of goodwill acquired in the acquisition.

Our team can also assist with the required impairment tests of the carrying value of intangible assets and goodwill.

Income tax—estate freezes, corporate reorganizations and compliance

Corporate reorganizations, including estate planning and other special situations such as transfers between related parties, require taxpayers to determine the fair market value of their assets. Our practical valuation approach is tailored to the risk inherent in the contemplated transaction or situation and meets or exceeds the standards of the Canada Revenue Agency and the Internal Revenue Service.

Matrimonial matters

In most cases, the dissolution of a marriage requires the valuation of the business interests held by each party. In addition, there may be a need for income analysis, to establish the actual or potential earnings of each spouse and its effect on support payment calculations.

Employee share purchase and option plans (ESOPS)

ESOPS – including employee share purchase plans, employee stock option plans, and more creative vehicles, such as phantom stock plans – are becoming increasingly common. The plans present special valuation challenges for purposes of their administration, for preparation of the financial statements of the issuing company, and for proper tax planning for the beneficiaries (the employees).

Richter has extensive experience in mergers, divestitures, acquisitions and financing of businesses. This real-market experience means we deliver realistic, supportable valuations. Equally importantly, we keep our valuations grounded in the "real world."

Expert Showcase

Search an Expert

Évaluation d’entreprises

Les milieux d’affaires et juridiques ont besoin d’évaluations d’entreprises précises et fiables dans les contextes suivants :

Conventions d’actionnaires et différends entre actionnaires

Des dispositions dans une convention d’actionnaires prévoyant une évaluation peuvent permettre d’éviter les différends entre actionnaires qui entraînent des conséquences coûteuses et perturbatrices.

Lorsque des différends entre actionnaires surviennent, une évaluation professionnelle peut contribuer à leur résolution, évitant ainsi un litige. Si le différend ne peut être réglé à l’amiable, nos évaluations dégageront des éléments probants objectifs et impartiaux permettant de prendre une décision juste et équitable quant à la valeur.

Fusions, acquisitions et désinvestissements

La première étape des regroupements d’entreprises consiste souvent à effectuer une évaluation afin de fournir une indication du prix pour élaborer une stratégie judicieuse d’acquisition ou de rachat de l’entreprise par les cadres. Cela mène à la quantification des synergies potentielles et à l’identification des occasions et des risques d’affaires, augmentant ainsi les chances de réussite de l’opération. Une évaluation d’entreprise vise également à repérer les inducteurs de valeur et à aider les actionnaires à évaluer l’incidence des initiatives stratégiques dans l’optique de maximiser la valeur actuelle et future de l’entreprise.

Services-conseils transactionnels

Les opérations importantes, mettant en jeu des actions de sociétés cotées, nécessitent souvent des attestations d’équité ou des évaluations formelles conformément aux exigences réglementaires. Ces rapports permettent aux administrateurs et aux comités indépendants de s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités envers les actionnaires des sociétés en cause.

Dans d’autres situations touchant des sociétés ouvertes ou fermées, des prêteurs, des créanciers ou d’autres intervenants peuvent avoir besoin d’une évaluation objective et indépendante d’une opération proposée ou de la juste valeur marchande d’une société. Notre analyse s’adapte aux particularités de l’opération afin de fournir aux parties prenantes l’information dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions éclairées.

Exigences en matière d’information financière

Selon les normes comptables, à la suite de l’acquisition d’une entreprise, les sociétés doivent procéder à l’ajustement des actifs et des passifs acquis à leur juste valeur. Cela nécessite l’identification et l’évaluation des actifs incorporels identifiables et permet d’établir la valeur de l’écart d’acquisition ainsi créé.

Notre équipe peut également fournir l’assistance nécessaire à l’égard des tests de dépréciation de la valeur comptable des actifs incorporels et de l’écart d’acquisition.

Impôt sur les bénéfices – gels successoraux, réorganisations d’entreprises et conformité

Dans le cadre des réorganisations d’entreprises, y compris la planification successorale et autres situations particulières comme les transferts entre sociétés liées, les contribuables sont tenus de déterminer la juste valeur marchande de leurs actifs. Notre méthode d’évaluation, adaptée aux risques inhérents à l’opération envisagée ou à la situation, permet de respecter et même de dépasser les normes de l’Agence du revenu du Canada et de l’Internal Revenue Service.

Causes matrimoniales

En général, une dissolution de mariage nécessite une évaluation des intérêts d’affaires de chacune des parties. Par ailleurs, une analyse des revenus peut s’avérer nécessaire pour déterminer les gains réels ou éventuels des époux et leurs conséquences sur les calculs du paiement de la pension alimentaire.

Régimes d’actionnariat des salariés

Les Régimes d’actionnariat des salariés et autres véhicules incitatifs tels les régimes d’options d’achat d’actions fictives sont de plus en plus courants. Ces régimes présentent des défis d’évaluation aux fins de leur gestion, de la préparation des états financiers de la société émettrice et de la planification fiscale appropriée pour les bénéficiaires (les employés).

Richter possède une expérience étendue en matière de fusions, de désinvestissements, d’acquisitions et de financement de sociétés. Cette expérience pratique du marché nous permet de proposer des évaluations réalistes et justifiables. De façon tout aussi importante, nous gardons nos évaluations ancrées dans le « monde réel ».

Experts